Home – News – Concert reviews – CD releases

News archive:  2020 – 2019 – 2018 – 2017 – 2016 – 2015 – 2014 – 2013

Music News of 2018

Swift leaves Big Machine for Universal

Monday, November 19, 2018 – Taylor Swift has switched labels from Big Machine to Universal Republic, she announced today.

UMG will serve as the exclusive worldwide recorded music partner for Swift and UMG's Republic Records will serve as her label partner in the U.S. Swift had been on Big Machine since the start of her career. Her father had a stake in Big Machine, which has been on the sales block.

Big Machine Records has enjoyed a strategic alliance with Republic Records.

Sir Lucian Grainge, Chairman and CEO of Universal Music Group, said, "Few artists in history approach Taylor Swift's combination of massive global hits and creative brilliance. She is so multi-talented, she can achieve anything. I have such enormous respect for Taylor, in particular for her use of her hard-earned influence to promote positive change. Because of her commitment to her fellow artists, not only did she want to partner with a company that understood her creative vision and had the resources and expertise to execute globally on her behalf, she also sought a partner whose approach to artists was aligned with hers. With these shared beliefs, there is so much we can accomplish together, and all of us at UMG are enormously proud to be embarking on the next chapter of her career alongside her."

Monte Lipman, founder and CEO, of Republic Records said, "Taylor has not only captured the imagination of an entire generation, but has also redefined the paradigm of the modern music industry. Her commitment to songwriting and performing has earned her the respect of her peers and millions of adoring fans around the world. I can only imagine what Taylor is capable of achieving in the years to come, both culturally and creatively. I'm beyond thrilled to create an alliance with Republic Records and the incomparable Taylor Swift."

Mumford & Sons head for the "Delta"

Thursday, September 20, 2018 – Mumford & Sons announced today that the quartet will release "Delta" on Nov. 16 on Gentlemen of the Road/Glassnote Records.

"Delta," the group's fourth release, was written collectively by the band, produced by Paul Epworth and recorded at London's The Church Studios.

"Guiding Light" is the first single. The band will debut "Guiding Light" on NBC's "The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon" this coming Monday, Sept. 24. Marcus Mumford will also join the host as a guest on the couch.

Mumford & Sons will embark on a 60-date worldwide arena tour beginning in later this year. Full tour details to be revealed Oct. 4.

The new music follows 2015's "Wilder Mind" and 2016's collaborative "Johannesburg" EP. Previous LPs include 2012's "Babel," which was awarded the 2013 Grammy for Album of the Year, and their 2009 debut, "Sigh No More."

Mumford & Sons is Ben Lovett, Marcus Mumford, Ted Dwane and Winston Marshall.

"Look Now," it's Elvis Costello

Friday, July 27, 2018 – Elvis Costello and The Imposters – Steve Nieve (keyboards), Davey Faragher (bass), Pete Thomas (drums) – will release "Look Now" on Oct. 12 on Concord Records.

Recorded in Hollywood, New York City and Vancouver, Canada, "Look Now" is the first album Costello has made with The Imposters since the 2008 release of "Momofuku" and his first new album since the acclaimed 2013 Roots collaboration, "Wise Up Ghost."

Costello had to cancel his summer tour due to being treated for cancer.

"I knew if we could make an album with the scope of ‘Imperial Bedroom' and some of the beauty and emotion of ‘Painted From Memory', we would really have something", said Costello.

Costello wrote most of the 12 songs by himself. The disc also was will be out in a 16-song deluxe version. "Don't Look Now" and "Photographs Can Lie" were co-written with Burt Bacharach, who makes a guest appearance, leading The Imposters from the piano for those two ballads.

Bacharach also contributed, "He's Given Me Things." Burnt Sugar is So Bitter" was written with Carole King.

The album was co-produced by Costello and Sebastian Krys, the Latin Grammy Producer of the Year for 2007 and 2015.

Speaking of his own role as co-producer, Costello said, "I had all of the orchestrations and vocal parts in my head or on the page before we played a note, so it was essential that I worked closely with Steve Nieve to maintain the light and space in the arrangements and allow him to shine."

Costello completed the picture by adding both guitar and his own vibraphone or celesta parts to his orchestrations but remarked, "Sebastian was there to make sure only the essential notes got onto the record, whether it was a fuzz-tone guitar or jazz bassoon."

"In the final mixing, Sebastian did a beautiful job of keeping everything present but always lead by emotion or narrative, although when balancing the band, my voice and the quartet of woodwinds and horns that I'd written for ‘Stripping Paper', I told him to "Just trust the blur."

The track listing is:
1. Under Lime
2. Don't Look Now
3. Burnt Sugar Is So Bitter
4. Stripping Paper
5. Unwanted Number
6. I Let The Sun Go Down
7. Mr. & Mrs. Hush
8. Photographs Can Lie
9. Dishonor The Stars
10. Suspect My Tears
11. Why Won't Heaven Help Me? 12. He's Given Me Things

Deluxe Special Edition Tracks:
13. Isabelle In Tears
14. Adieu Paris (L'Envie Des Étoiles)
15. The Final Mrs. Curtain
16. You Shouldn't Look At Me That Way

© Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher • countrystandardtime@gmail.com

Visit our sister publication Country Standard Time.