Musgraves becomes "Pageant Material"
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Musgraves becomes "Pageant Material"

Tuesday, May 12, 2015 – Kacey Musgraves announced today she would release her second major album and fifth overall, "Pageant Material," on June 23.

The disc contains 13 songs and was recorded at famed Studio A in Nashville.

"I'm so excited for y'all to hear it!," Musgraves wrote on Facebook. "The breadth of "Pageant Material" was recorded live in one of the best old studios still standing - historic RCA Studio A. The incredible musicians we had the pleasure of working with set up and tracked everything in the same room all together, and all those same musicians played on the whole record. So it lended itself to having a much more classic, and concise sound. Which was really important to me for this album to have. As this project culminated it was my intention for its songs to air my perspective as I am now: a 26 year old who hasn't lost her small town heart and old soul but who has gotten to see the world. Then to record them in a way that sets an honest, simple, and conclusive tone. (But one that isn't taking itself too seriously."

Musgraves had a hand in writing every song. She also produced along with Luke Laird and Shane McAnally.

Songs on the CD are:
1. High Time
2. Dime Store Cowgirl
3. Late To The Party
4. Pageant Material
5. This Town
6. Biscuits
7. Somebody To Love
8. Miserable
9. Die Fun
10. Family Is Family
11. Good Ol' Boys Club
12. Cup Of Tea
13. Fine

More news for Kacey Musgraves

CD reviews for Kacey Musgraves

CD review - Very Kacey Christmas Sometimes it's not about what you play, but the way you play it, and with "A Very Kacey Christmas," Kacey Musgraves sacrifices a little surprise for a relatively pleasantly predictable holiday offering. For instance, Musgraves' duet with Willie Nelson plays on (surprise surprise) the iconic singer's propensity to smoke weed when they wish the world "A Willie Nice Christmas." Although there are some sad country songs, like "Christmas Makes Me Cry" and ...
CD review - Pageant Material Kacey Musgraves is a welcome throwback in these bro and modern country times. That means you're going to hear sharp lyrics with more than a touch of humor, story songs and even instrumentation that recalls traditional country, like pedal steel, mandolin and a Johnny Cash drumbeat. Musgraves' tour de force is her uncanny ability to turn a phrase. She does employ fellow producers Luke Laird and Shane McAnally plus Brandy Clark and Josh Osborne, among others, for lyrical help. ...
CD review - Same Trailer Different Park Kacey Musgraves sounds so much like Miranda Lambert on her single, Merry Go 'Round, you'd almost assume they were sisters. With the album "Same Trailer Different Park," we learn Musgraves, who helped write Lambert's current hit Mama's Broken Heart, also shares lyrical spunk with Lambert, as songs are packed with plenty of humor and down home wisdom. Coincidently, cigarettes also show up a lot as they do on some of Lambert's recordings. Blowin' Smoke, for ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher •
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on  Twitter    Instagram    Facebook