Hillman & Pedersen slate live disc
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Hillman & Pedersen slate live disc

Monday, July 12, 2010 – Chris Hillman & Herb Pedersen will release "At Edwards Barn" on Sept. 21 on Rounder. A career retrospective, the live album features songs from various aspects of their careers including such classics as Eight Miles High, Wait a Minute and Turn, Turn, Turn (To Everything There Is A Season). The concert was recorded on Nov. 7, 2009 at Southern California's Edwards Barn - a venue chosen for its outstanding acoustics.

Hillman is a pioneer country rock through his work with such notable bands as The Byrds, The Flying Burrito Brothers and the Desert Rose Band. Lifelong friend and fellow Desert Rose Band band mate Pedersen began his career in Berkeley, Cal. in the early '60s playing with artists such as David Grisman, Butch Waller, David Nelson and Jerry Garcia. He has also worked with fellow musicians Linda Ronstadt, Emmylou Harris, Vince Gill, Johnny Rivers, Dan Fogelberg, James Taylor, Gordon Lightfoot, Jennifer Warnes, John Prine and Jesse Winchester.

Songs on the CD are:
1. Going Up Home
2. Love Reunited
3. Turn, Turn, Turn (To Everything There Is A Season)
4. If I Could Only Win Your Love
5. Tu Cancion
6. Our Savior's Hands
7. Wheels
8. Have You Seen Her Face
9. Eight Miles High
10. Together Again
11. Desert Rose
12. Sin City
13. The Cowboy Way
14. Wait a Minute
15. Heaven's Lullaby

Tour dates are:

Oct. 2 Poway, CA Poway Music Festival/Poway Center for the Art

Oct. 22 Montclair, NJ Outpost in the Burbs

Oct. 23 Bay Shore, NY Boulton Center for the Performing Arts

Oct. 24 Sellersville, PA Sellersville Theatre

Oct. 27 Cleveland, OH The Winchester Music Hall

Oct. 29 - 11/1 Pomeroy, OH Fur Peace Ranch

More news for Chris Hillman

CD reviews for Chris Hillman

CD review - Bidin' My Time With all the memorable music Chris Hillman created with The Byrds, Flying Burrito Brothers and Desert Rose Band, he has nothing left to prove. He's a both a bona fide rock and country icon. Tom Petty, who owes an obvious debt to Hillman's Byrds (the Heartbreakers would never have brought the jangle hard and heavy, had The Byrds not first created the original template, and Tom Petty produced) appropriately produced this wonderful new country-rock collection. The album opens with a ...
CD review - The Other Side A founding member of The Byrds, Flying Burritto Brothers and Desert Rose Band, Chris Hillman has been recording since the early 1960's. On his first album in more than seven years, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame member expertly fuses folk, bluegrass and gospel to craft a remarkably personal statement. Hillman's sweet, mellow tenor has aged gracefully and a stellar group of sidemen, including producer Herb Pederson, support Hillman's mandolin and guitar work with exquisite picking and ethereal harmonies. ...
Tony Rice, Larry Rice, Chris Hillman and Herb Pederson pick up right where last year's "Out Of The Woodwork" left off: lots of great songs and lots of great singing and picking. Between them, they have made immense contributions to the worlds of bluegrass, country and country-rock. Their resumes include the Desert Rose Band, J.D. Crowe's New South, The Byrds, The Flying Burrito Brothers, The Hillmen, The Rice Brothers and The Dillards. Of the 13 tracks, 7 are originals - 5 by Hillman and 2 by Larry Rice. ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher • countrystandardtime@gmail.com
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on  Twitter    Instagram    Facebook