Plant, Krauss "Raise the Roof"
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Plant, Krauss "Raise the Roof"

Thursday, August 12, 2021 – Robert Plant and Alison Krauss are back together. Fourteen years after the success of "Raising Sand," the two will release "Raise the Roof" on Nov. 14.

"Finally the doors are open and after 14 years here's a sequel to Raising Sand. Full of interesting curves and great musicality in the company of great musicians, we "Raise the Roof," Plant tweeted today.

"We wanted it to move," Krauss said. "We brought other people in, other personalities within the band, and coming back together again in the studio brought a new intimacy to the harmonies."

"You hear something and you go, 'Man, listen to that song, we got to sing that song.' It's a vacation, really — the perfect place to go that you least expected to find," said Plant.

The first single, which came out today, is "Can't Let Go" with a retro feel. Lucinda Williams released the song in 1998. The Plant/Krauss version sounds very much in the mode of the music on "Raising Sand."

T-Bone Burnett, who also worked with Plant and Krauss on "Raising Sand," produced. The disc features songs by Merle Haggard, Allen Toussaint, the Everly Brothers and Bert Jansch. Krauss and Plant contributed the original "High and Lonesome."

Musicians included drummer Jay Bellerose, guitarists Marc Ribot, David Hidalgo of Los Lobos, Bill Frisell and Buddy Miller, bassists Dennis Crouch and Viktor Krauss, Alison's brother, and pedal steel guitarist Russ Pahl.

The track list is:
1. Quattro (World Drifts In)
2. The Price of Love
3. Go Your Way
4. Trouble With My Lover
5. Searching for My Love
6. Can't Let Go
7. It Don't Bother Me
8. You Led Me to the Wrong
9. Last Kind Words Blues
10. High and Lonesome
11. Going Where the Lonely Go
12. Somebody Was Watching Over Me

The two expect to tour in 2022.

More news for Alison Krauss

CD reviews for Alison Krauss

CD review - Paper Airplane If we've learned anything over the 7 years that have passed since the last Alison Krauss & Union Station record (2004's "Lonely Runs Both Ways"), it's that Krauss doesn't necessarily need her band for success. And the same can be said for the band regarding Krauss. During the hiatus, Krauss scored a mega-hit with "Raising Sand," her collaboration with Robert Plant from 2007. At the same time, multi-instrumentalist and vocalist Dan Tyminski and Dobro ...
CD review - A Hundred Miles or More: A Collection The liner notes for the new collection of songs by Alison Krauss gives notice that, unlike the last collection ("Now that I've Found You" in 1995), this one showcases Krauss alone, far from Union Station, the band that first brought her into the spotlight. She's been a recognized solo artist for a while now. There's no doubt that Krauss has traveled far from her bluegrass/traditional roots. But for anyone who needs proof of that, this collection is a good argument - she ...
CD review - Lonely Runs Both Ways Over the past decade, Alison Krauss + Union Station have created and fine-tuned an approach that can deliver restrained, moody ballads and mid-tempo songs, hard-edged bluegrass and traditional material and lithe instrumentals with equal helpings of skill and conviction. The result is one of the most distinctive and compelling sounds in popular music, a verdict ratified by a slew of awards - Krauss herself owns more Grammies than any other female artist - and invitations to join all kinds of ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher •
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on  Twitter    Instagram    Facebook