Guyton wants people to "Remember Her Name"
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Guyton wants people to "Remember Her Name"

Monday, July 12, 2021 – Ten years after being signed to Capitol Records, Mickey Guyton will finally release her debut full-length release, "Remember Her Name," on Sept. 24.

The Black country singer hosted the CMA Awards earlier this year with Keith Urban and also released an EP, "Bridges," last September. Guyton has been particularly active on racial issues involving Blacks in the country music industry along with forcefully speaking out against racism. Among the songs Guyton has released is "Black Like Me."

Guyton co-penned 15 of the 16 songs along with writers including Nathan Chapman, Victoria Banks and Jennifer Hanson.

"Couldn't be more proud to share that my new album Remember Her Name will be released on Sept 24th!," Guyton tweeted today. "I set out to create music that would make people feel self-empowered, loved, and comfortable with being themselves & this album holds true to all of that."

The track list is:
1. Remember Her Name (Mickey Guyton, Parker Welling, Blake Hubbard, Jarrod Ingram)
2. All American (Mickey Guyton, Victoria Banks, Emma-Lee, Karen Kosowski)
3. Different (Mickey Guyton, Emma-Lee, Karen Kosowski)
4. Love My Hair (Mickey Guyton, Anna Krantz)
5. Lay It On Me (Mickey Guyton, Jaden Michaels, Gavin Slate)
6. Higher (Mickey Guyton, Nathan Chapman, Fraser Churchill, Preston Glass, Narada Walden)
7. Dancing In The Living Room (Mickey Guyton, Karen Kosowski, Victoria Banks, Emma-Lee)
8. Do You Really Wanna Know (Mickey Guyton, Melissa Fuller, Andy Skib
9. Black Like Me (Mickey Guyton, Emma Davidson-Dillon, Fraser Churchill, Nathan Chapman)
10. Words (Mickey Guyton, Abbey Cone, David Kalmusky)
11. What Are You Gonna Tell Her? (Mickey Guyton, Karen Kosowski, Victoria Banks, Emma-Lee)
12. Smoke (Mickey Guyton, Nathan Chapman, Balewa Muhammad)
13. Rosé (Mickey Guyton, Karen Kosowski, Victoria Banks)
14. Indigo (Mickey Guyton, Jimmy Robbins, Laura Veltz, Mozella)
15. If I Were A Boy (Toby Gad, Brittany Jean Carlson)
16. Better Than You Left Me (Fly Higher Version) (Mickey Guyton, Nathan Chapman, Jennifer Hanson, Jenn Schott)

More news for Mickey Guyton

CD reviews for Mickey Guyton

CD review - Mickey Guyton Mickey Guyton, a Dallas native, follows in the footsteps of female singers like Carrie Underwood and Martina McBride on this 4-song, 16-minute CD that's probably meant as more of an introduction for those who never heard her 2014 very much under the radar EP, "Unbreakable." That translates into a powerful set of vocal chords that dominate. Guyton brings a sense of authenticity to the opening "Why Baby Why." She doesn't need to go full-blown vocally all the time, but ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher •
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on Twitter  Instagram  Facebook  YouTube