Lambert, Ingram, Randall to release 15 songs
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Lambert, Ingram, Randall to release 15 songs

Friday, March 5, 2021 – The upcoming collaboration between Miranda Lambert, Jack Ingram and Jon Randall was recorded mainly outdoors, it was revealed Friday as new information about the disc was released.

"The Marfa Tapes," due May 7, will contain 15 songs and be released through Lambert's imprint, Vanner Records and RCA Nashville. The material includes a new version of "Tin Man," which Randall helped write and was previously a hit for Lambert.

Over the past several years, the desolate location of Marfa, Texas has become a songwriting haven for the trio. When they returned for five days this past November though, they came not to write, but to record a new album inspired by the stark beauty of west Texas. The trio recorded raw with just a pair of microphones and an acoustic guitar.

"I'll never forget pulling into Marfa that first night at 4 a.m.," said Lambert. "The stars were like nothing I'd ever seen before, just this endless blanket hanging so low you could reach up and touch them. I immediately understood why this place was so special."

"There's no TV, no radio, nothing to do out there but pour a cocktail, sit around the campfire and talk," said Randall. "Eventually, that just inevitably leads to songs. There's no pressure to write, but most of the time, the three of us can't seem to help ourselves."

The trio recorded much of the album outdoors, inviting the sounds of the desert to seep into their live performances.

"There's something singular that happens in that moment of collaboration and creation, something you can never really recreate in the studio," said Ingram. "Our hope with this album was to share a little bit of that magic with people."

The track list is:
1) In His Arms
2) I Don't Like It
3) The Wind's Just Gonna Blow
4) Am I Right Or Amarillo
5) Waxahachie
6) Homegrown Tomatoes
7) Breaking A Heart
8) Ghost
9) Geraldene
10) We'll Always Have The Blues
11) Tin Man
12) Two-Step Down To Texas
13) Anchor
14) Tequila Does
15) Amazing Grace (West Texas)

More news

CD reviews

CD review - Midnight Motel Jack Ingram tells a crazy story about the inspiration for "Blaine's Ferris Wheel" at the end of another song, "I Feel Like Drinking Tonight." It's one of a few places where Ingram can be heard just talking. In part, this story concerns a time when Ingram was asked to open for the late Merle Haggard. But as great a storyteller Ingram is, he's even a better songwriter and "I Feel Like Drinking Tonight" ranks right up there with all those great Haggard drinking songs. ...
CD review - Platinum Cynics might think that Miranda Lambert is presumptuous in entitling her fifth disc "Platinum" and, in effect, assuming she'll get her plaque for selling 1 million units. But Lambert says that isn't the case, but more a matter of style, looks and feel. Lambert also wrote and discovered a lot of excellent songs that fit her quite well in an album in which she exposes her inner self as she matures. That may never more apparent than in the country rocker Lambert wrote ...
CD review - Revolution Every once in a while an album comes along that restores your faith in mainstream country music. Miranda Lambert's "Revolution" is just such a recording. It's not revolutionary, as the title might suggest. Instead, this CD is chock full of topnotch songs that are both memorable and sincere and never sound slick or overproduced. (Come to think of it, such old school values as these may in fact be revolutionary around Nashville). Lambert vocalizes a bit like a little girl at ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher •
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on  Twitter    Instagram    Facebook