Pearce goes for "29"
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Pearce goes for "29"

Thursday, February 4, 2021 – Carly Pearce will be out with "29," a seven-song EP, on Feb. 19 on Big Machine, she announced today.

A creative burst inspired by her time writing with Shane McAnally and Josh Osborne led to the EP.

"Losing busbee was such a moment of upheaval," said Pearce, speaking of her producer, who died in 2019. "He had believed in me...carried me... brought me through everyone getting deals around me... because he knew something I couldn't see: that it would happen."

"And then as we're doing Lee Brice's vocal on 'I Hope You're Happy Now,' he has that first seizure, and my creative world started to unravel. It's scary being out there on your own, and I think the response to the song...going Platinum, being nominated for Song of the Year...That was a little bit of him telling me to stand tall, to walk forward, to know my life and my writing would carry my voice and my dream forward."

Pearce pays tribute to busbee on "Shoe Me Around."

"The best songs come from the moment, from real creative spark – and Josh and Shane bring it out of me," Pearce said. "I was unsure where my music would be without busbee. They both know where my musical heart is, and they understand how to capture exact details for much larger truths. The more specific they write, the more people I think can see themselves in the songs."

In addition to busbee's passing, Pearce also split with her her husband of eight months, singer Michael Ray, in June 2020.

"I feel lighter reflecting on the last year and pouring my soul into this music and wanted to share it in hopes that others to will take from the songs what they need. With streaming and social media, we were able record music for the sole purpose of letting my fans know where my heart is without any expectations. That's a kind of immediacy that makes making records really exciting. I can't wait to share '29'."

The track list is:
1. "Next Girl" - Carly Pearce, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne
2. "Should've Known Better" - Carly Pearce, Jordan Reynolds, Emily Shackelton
3. "29" - Carly Pearce, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne
4. "Liability" - Carly Pearce, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne
5. "Messy" - Carly Pearce, Sarah Buxton, Jimmy Robbins*
6. "Show Me Around" - Carly Pearce, Emily Shackelton, Ben West
7. "Day One" - Carly Pearce, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne, Matthew Ramsey

Produced by Shane McAnally and Josh Osborne
* Produced by Jimmy Robbins

More news for Carly Pearce

CD reviews for Carly Pearce

CD review - 29: Written in Stone Carly Pearce's music is one more good reason to not completely give up on mainstream country radio. Songs like "I Hope You're Happy Now" and "Next Girl" stand out on radio for good reason – they're really good. Pearce's full-length is filled with many such tunes that can vastly improve overall radio music quality. The acoustic instrumental interplay driving "Easy Going," for instance, just shouts, 'Traditional arrangements are still ...
CD review - Carly Pearce Carly Pearce's self-titled sophomore album was fittingly released on Valentine's Day. Love is in the air throughout the 13-track collection. She opens with the breezy "Closer To You" and "Call Me. The album is chock full of notable co-write credits. On the latter, Little Big Town's Jim Westbrook and Phil Sweet have a hand. It feels like a love letter to fellow country singer and husband Michael Ray. Later on, she ratchets up the pop factor on a throwaway duet ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher •
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on  Twitter    Instagram    Facebook