Lynn remains "Still Woman Enough"
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Lynn remains "Still Woman Enough"

Monday, January 4, 2021 – Loretta Lynn will pay homage to women with "Still Woman Enough," a new studio album coming out Macy 19.

The release, which will be her fourth on Sony Legacy, contains help from Reba McEntire Carrie Underwood Margo Price and Tanya Tucker.

"Still Woman Enough" was mainly recorded at the Cash Cabin Studio in Hendersonville, Tenn., with producers Patsy Lynn Russell and John Carter Cash, the son of Johnny and June Carter Cash.

This marks Lynn's 50th studio album (excluding her 10 studio duet collaborations with Conway Twitty). Lynn pays homage to those at the beginning of country, Mother Maybelle Carter and the Carter Family (via her cover of "Keep On The Sunny Side") through a new interpretation of her very first single, "I'm A Honky Tonk Girl."

McEntire and Underwood guest on "Still Woman Enough." She duets with Margo Price on "One's On The Way" and Tanya Tucker and "You Ain't Woman Enough."

"I am just so thankful to have some of my friends join me on my new album. We girl singers gotta stick together," said Lynn. "It's amazing how much has happened in the 50 years since 'Coal Miner's Daughter' first came out, and I'm extremely grateful to be given a part to play in the history of American music."

The collection is centered around Lynn's original compositions - from new songs like "Still Woman Enough" (which shares its title and attitude with her 2002 autobiography and was co-written with her daughter, Patsy Lynn Russell) through new interpretations of classics including "I'm a Honky Tonk Girl" (her first single, originally released March 1960), "You Ain't Woman Enough" (the title track for her first number one Billboard Hot Country Album in 1966), "My Love" (from 1968's Here's Loretta Lynn), "I Wanna Be Free" (1971) and "Coal Miner's Daughter Recitation," commemorating the 50th anniversary of the release of her signature song (Oct. 5, 1970) and album (Jan. 4, 1971).

In mid-2020, Lynn reunited with director David McClister to collaborate on a short film version of "Coal Miner's Daughter Recitation." Shot on location at her ranch in Hurricane Mills, Tenn. the new music video includes scenes filmed in her "Butcher Holler" replica home.

Lynn previously released the Grammy-nominated "Full Circle" (released March 2016), "White Christmas Blue" (2016) and "Wouldn't It Be Great" (2018).

For the cover portrait, Lynn is wearing a newly-designed couture dress--created especially for this album by her longtime dressmaker Tim Cobb - inspired by the gown she wore on the original "Coal Miner's Daughter" album cover.

The song list is:
1. Still Woman Enough (featuring Reba McEntire and Carrie Underwood) (Loretta Lynn and Patsy Lynn Russell)
2. Keep On The Sunny Side (A.P. Carter)
3. Honky Tonk Girl (Loretta Lynn)
4. I Don't Feel At Home Any More (Traditional, arrangement by Loretta Lynn)
5. Old Kentucky Home (Stephen Foster and Loretta Lynn)
6. Coal Miner's Daughter Recitation (Loretta Lynn)
7. One's On The Way (featuring Margo Price (Shel Silverstein)
8. I Wanna Be Free (Loretta Lynn)
9. Where No One Stands Alone (Lister Mosie)
10. I'll Be All Smiles Tonight (T.B. Ransom)
11. I Saw The Light (Hank Williams)
12. My Love (Loretta Lynn)
13. You Ain't Woman Enough (featuring Tanya Tucker) (Loretta Lynn)

More news for Loretta Lynn

CD reviews for Loretta Lynn

CD review - White Christmas Blue There are some "country" stars that can't seem to make true country music. Then there are artists like Loretta Lynn that can't not create pure country music. Lynn's "White Christmas Blue" album may feel like a Christmas miracle to many traditional country fans. Take Lynn's version of "Away in a Manger," for which Lynn is listed as arranger, for example. It features a lovely Paul Franklin steel guitar solo. "Blue Christmas" is best ...
CD review - Full Circle Loretta Lynn shows no signs of slowing down at 83. "Full Circle" is her first album since her extremely well-received Jack White-produced "Van Lear Rose," a 2004 masterpiece. Some of the 14 songs on "Full Circle" are new recordings, while a few ("Fist City," "Secret Love" and "Everybody Wants to Go to Heaven") are new versions. Others are old songs ("Black Jack David, "Always On My Mind," "In the Pines") that Lynn ...
Johnny Cash had his Rick Rubin, and it seems that Loretta Lynn has hers in the form of Jack White of the White Stripes. And that means an album of lots of excellent music with all 13 songs penned by Lynn. Lynn looks to her family past and her own career for inspiration for several songs (the title track, "High on a Mountain Top" about working the coal mines and the "folks know what they've got" and "Story of My Life"). She also isn't afraid to tell off a woman who interfered with her family's ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher •
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on  Twitter    Instagram    Facebook