Stapleton will be "Starting Over" in November
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Stapleton will be "Starting Over" in November

Thursday, August 27, 2020 – Chris Stapleton will be "Starting Over" in November.

The soulful singer will put out a new disc on Nov. 13 on Mercury Records Nashville. The title track was released today.

Written by Stapleton and Mike Henderson, "Starting Over" begins a 14-song album completed in late February only days before the COVID-19 shutdown began.

Alongside 11 songs written by Stapleton with both longtime friends and new collaborators are three covers: John Fogerty"s "Joy Of My Life" and Guy Clark"s "Worry B Gone" and "Old Friends."

Stapleton recorded the disc at Nashville"s historic RCA Studio A (with additional work done at Muscle Shoals Sound and Compass Sound Studio). Produced by Dave Cobb (who also plays acoustic guitar), the record features his wife, Morgane Stapleton (vocals, tambourine), with bandmates J.T. Cure (bass) and Derek Mixon (drums). Special guests include musicians Mike Campbell (electric guitar), Benmont Tench (Hammond B3 organ) and Paul Franklin (pedal steel) as well as the All Voices Choir who are featured on "Watch You Burn," written by Stapleton and Campbell.

The track list is:
1. Starting Over
2. Devil Always Made Me Think Twice
3. Cold
4. When I'm With You
5. Arkansas
6. Joy Of My Life
7. Hillbilly Blood
8. Maggie's Song
9. Whiskey Sunrise
10. Worry B Gone
11. Old Friends
12. Watch You Burn
13. You Should Probably Leave
14. Nashville, TN

More news for Chris Stapleton

CD reviews for Chris Stapleton

CD review - From A Room: Volume 2 There is no bigger artist in country music today, perhaps even in American music, than Chris Stapleton. His appeal reaches beyond just the commercial country fans for his gritty bluesy approach. 2015's "Traveller" set a high bar, which was met by this year's release of "From A Room: Volume 1," which won Album of the Year in the 51st CMA Awards. Stapleton also garnered the Male Vocalist of the Year for his second time. Now seven months after that release, "From ...
CD review - Traveller Chris Stapleton is one of those artists you've heard without ever realizing it. That's because of his acclaim as a songwriter with such hits as Luke Bryan's "Drink a Beer," Josh Turner's "Your Man," Darius Rucker's "Come Back Song" and Kenny Chesney's "Never Wanted Nothing More." He also had a successful stint as lead singer of the driving bluegrass band The SteelDrivers (Adele recorded one of their songs, which he co-wrote as ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher •
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on  Twitter    Instagram    Facebook