McGraw is "Here on Earth" in August, first release in five years
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

McGraw is "Here on Earth" in August, first release in five years

Thursday, July 9, 2020 – Tim McGraw will release "Here on Earth" on Aug. 21 on his return to Big Machine Label Group.

McGraw also released the title track today.

The disc, which contains 16 songs, also features his first single "I Called Mama." Jessie Jo Dillon, Chase McGill and Jon Nite co-wrote "Here on Earth."

The album will be McGraw's 16th studio album and his first single since returning to Big Machine Records earlier in the year.

The track list is:
1. L.A. - Carlton Anderson, Shane Minor, Phil O'Donnell
2. Chevy Spaceship - Jonny Price
3. Here on Earth - Jessie Joe Dillon, Chase McGill, Jon Nite
4. Damn Sure Do - Tony Lane, James T. Slater
5. Hallelujahville - Tom Douglas, Blake Griffith, Brett Taylor
6. Good Taste in Women - Jaren Johnston, Bryan Simpson, Nathan Spicer
7. Hard to Stay Mad At - Luke Laird, Shane McAnally, Lori McKenna
8. Sheryl Crow - Wendell Mobley, Neil Thrasher, Laura Veltz 9. Not From California - Levi Hummon, Marcus Hummon, Matt McVaney, Brad Warren, Brett Warren
10. Held You Tonight - Ross Copperman, Jon Nite
11. 7500 OBO - Matt McGinn, Jennifer Schott, Nathan Spicer
12. If I Was a Cowboy - Zack Dyer, Lonnie Lee Fowler, Dave Turnbill
13. I Called Mama - Marv Green, Lance Miller, Jimmy Yeary
14. Gravy - Andy Albert, Tom Douglas, Allen Shamblin
15. War of Art - Lance Miller, Jeremy Spillman, Brad Warren, Brett Warren
16. Doggone - Claire Douglas, Tom Douglas, Jaren Johnston, Aimee Mayo

"Here on Earth," which clocks in at almost 62 minutes, is McGraw's first solo album since 2015's "Damn Country Music." In 2017, McGraw switched to Sony to release "Speak to a Girl," a duet with his wife, Faith Hill, that was released on their "The Rest of Our Life" disc.

"McGraw plans to kick off the album on Aug. 21 with a first of its kind album live stream experience," according to a press release.

The disc does not include "Neon Church" and "Thought About You." They were released as singles in 2018 and 2019 and made the top 20.

More news for Tim McGraw

CD reviews for Tim McGraw

CD review - Here on Earth Tim McGraw's collection, "Here on Earth," finds the country star sounding peaceful and down to Earth. He's more meditative than overly active, throughout. It's very much an adult album in that McGraw is speaking from the perspective of maturity, rather than pretending he's still a young man. If he's got any barbecue statins on his white t-shirt, he's not letting on here. McGraw burns through five mellow tracks before he gets to anything with a discernable beat. ...
CD review - Damn Country Music Tim McGraw said of his 14th studio album, "Damn Country Music," "It's is all about passion, (taking him back to 1989) "when I came to Nashville to chase my dreams." Country music has richly rewarded him over the past two decades, and he honors the genre's tradition here. The album gets off to a very traditional start with Celtic folk. The flute and skillful acoustic picking on the opener "Here Tonight" bring a Mark Knopfler tune immediately to mind. ...
CD review - Sundown Heaven Town The banjo comes first out of the speakers, the opening strains of "Overrated," the lead-off song on Tim McGraw's latest. But with a "1-2-3-4" count, the mood changes and goes for a more modern country approach. McGraw does about the same on the follow-up "City Lights" with Michael Landau's steely, but rocking lead guitar taking over near the conclusion as it does later hard on "Sick of Me" where the protagonist contemplates a need to turn his life around. ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher •
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on  Twitter    Instagram    Facebook